In first place, the winners in the Best Community Project were Brandlesholme Youth Club; second place, Mosses Youth Club and in third place, Abbey Close TRA. Volunteers set up Brandlesholme Youth Club 18 months ago and it now provides a much needed service and valuable resource to over 100 young people from the local area.

Nominated for being an 'unsung hero, who consistently puts others ahead of himself', David Andrew took home first prize in the Good Neighbour Award, followed by Kathleen Hardman in second place and Abbey Close TRA in third.

For the Best Green / Environmental Initiative, Chapelfield Grow Your Own pipped Danny Speak and Dion Weatherhead to first place, with green-fingered Wendy Newman taking third prize. Chapelfield Grow Your Own has turned several overgrown areas of land on the estate from eyesores into attractive edible community gardens. In their first year, the group have cultivated 16 different vegetable types and freely shared 268 bags of food to 43 recipient households.

Connecting Communities saw Victoria TRA take the top spot, with Mosses Youth Club second and Pippa Marsden as the third winner, for her instrumental role in founding and developing Outwood TRA. Victoria TRA embarked on their biggest venture to date last year: buying the church hall where they are based, after being informed that the building was to be sold and rent was to go up. The TRA aims to bridge gaps in services and provide great opportunities for their residents, either for free or at a heavily subsided cost.

Mosses Youth Club was established in July 2013 by community volunteers and local policing team members to give young people an outlet and a chance to socialise and play in a safe environment. Since its implementation, the police have seen a reduction in anti-social behaviour incidents around the area.

Eddy and Bernie Anderson were joint first in the Retirement Living Award, setting the scene for Brian Wharton and George Holt in second place, followed by Beryl Ashworth in third place. All award winners volunteer their time at Red Bank Extra Care Scheme from karaoke for residents, gardening and fundraising for the TRA.

Young Rising Star was won by Jade Mitchell 'for all the help and time she has given to her community, demonstrating real commitment at such a young age'. Aston Roger took second place, with three recipients winning joint third place: Callum Morris, Natasha Szpak and Oliva Waddington, all from Victoria Youth Club, which has over 280 members.

Steve Parry, Sue Arnall and Norman Tooth were first, second and third winners respectively in the Inspirational Individual Category. Steve has overcome personal hardship to take a lead role as a youth leader at Brandlesholme Youth Club; Sue is the founder member of 'Eagle Wing', a group which offers help, support and companionship to refugees and asylum seekers and Norman is Chair of Chapelfield TRA and plays a pivotal role in its Grow Your Own project.

Volunteer of the Year was won by inspirational Lorna Hill, for her pivotal role in establishing a skate park on the Brandlesholme Estate and involving local children in all consultations. Second prize went to David Lyon who was nominated for 'time given to Victoria TRA and his commitment to securing funding for Victoria Youth Club'. Jean Giblin took home third prize for her work with Seedfield TRA.

Sharon McCambridge, Six Town Housing Chief Executive said "the awards are our chance to say thank you to the many residents who make such a big difference to the areas they live in. I am continually impressed by the range of nominees and was particularly pleased to see a number of new entrants this year. I take my hat off to the judging panel who must have had their work cut out short-listing the winners. Tuesday was a fantastic day and on behalf of Six Town Housing, well done to those nominated and to all prize winners - your awards are well-deserved".

The event was co-hosted by Hugh Broadbent, Chairman of Six Town Housing Board and David Howell, Tenant Board Member.  All prize winners were given a framed certificate and Love to Shop vouchers by the award sponsors: Greater Manchester Police, Manchester Credit Union, Casey Group, Fusion 21, Novus, Procure Plus, Sure Maintenance, Ainsworth and Parkinson and Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue Service. First prize winners also received a customised trophy.

Guests, who included Madam Mayor Sharon Briggs, were entertained by children and young adults from Prestwich Arts Academy, who performed a dazzling array of songs and dance numbers from 'Jai Ho' to 'A Whole New World’ from Aladdin. On arrival, guests were treated to Bucks Fizz and later enjoyed refreshments.

All pictures are available on our Facebook page.

  Back to news